Money Laundering British Caribbean Dependencies Anti-Money Laundering and Related Enforcement Efforts

IMPORTANT: The full content of this page is available to premium users only.

Saturday, June 1, 1991
Bruce Zagaris
The British Foreign Commonwealth Office (FCO) continues its efforts to assits its Caribbean dependent territories in their enforcement of laws to prevent criminal use of their offshore financial sectors. With the assistance of the British FCO, the Financial Secretaries of the five Caribbean dependent territories (DTs) -- the Cayman Islands, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Montserrat, and The Turks and Caicos -- convened their first panel on June 6-7 in the Cayman Islands.  A central theme was the implementation of recommendations of the report of Rodney Gallagher in 1989 concerning the status of anti-money laundering laws and recommendations for strenghtening such laws.